What do you do for a living?

Man in NYC Chinatown

I’m at Target, buying Q-tips, cotton balls, and reduced fat Wheat Thins. On my lunch break. My one time during the day to buy Q-tips, cotton balls, and reduced fat Wheat Thins.

Cashier: “What do you do for a living?”

Me: “Oh. I work in digital ad operations.”

Cashier: “That sounds interesting.”

Me (sheepishly): “I’m actually a writer and actor and…”

Cashier (perking up considerably): “Oh, cool! Do you have a blog I can visit?”

Me: “No.”

1-1/2 hours later, thanks to the magic of Boolean algebra, I do have a blog. Unlike in my former life as a professional writer, no one is giving me money to type things that form sentences. “It’s so strange,” I think to myself. “Even just five years ago, bloggers weren’t considered ‘writers.'”

This is clearly EVIDENCE THAT I AM GETTING OLDER. Happy July 16th, everybody. I’m a blogger monster now.

 

One thought on “What do you do for a living?

  1. Pingback: What is it you do exactly? | the adventures of being

Leave a Reply

