avoiding the news


Since the election really ramped up in earnest – re: after the conventions – I have mostly buried my head in the sand and thought about how cute dogs are. When I do check the actual news – including TechCrunch or any sites related to Apple, which, let’s face it, are softballs compared to stories about chemical warfare in Syria – I’m deeply saddened by the cruelty and stupidity of apparently 50% of the electorate. So I think about puppies, window shop for skincare products I don’t need, and oh, avoid Facebook because I’m 2,000 miles away from my best friends and miss them like crazy. It’s not that I’ve forgotten about you all in Minneapolis; it’s that I care so much it aches. Better to let my brain and emotions melt in the hot Georgia heat.

So imagine my surprise when I went on my WordPress feed this morning and discovered that Gawker.com has finally met its demise, and that the Apple Cupertino HQ is rife with rape jokes. I feel like my world has both widened and shrunk. When Steve Jobs was CEO, I thought of Apple as a company run like a tight ship, with no tolerance for anything that distracted from his vision and mission. What is Tim Cook doing over there?

As far as Gawker is concerned, this shuttering of its murky windows is puzzling to me. At a time when lasciviousness, lies, and vitriol seem to be commonplace and encouraged, suddenly the inconsequential rumor mill that was Gawker is no longer acceptable. What is this world coming to? If we’re going to be tolerant of intolerance, it seems like Gawker should be included in this growing list of things at which we begrudgingly look the other way.

It seems like I truly have no idea what this world is coming to. And that I’m old, because this is something only old people say, because old people are the only humans with any kind of hindsight. Not saying it’s accurate, mind you, just that we possess a modicum of it. (For example, I don’t see the need to “make America great again,” because as far as I’m concerned, it’s always been great, warts and all.) I’m not sure what I’m going to do with the remainder of my day after my Anusara yoga class, but I’m pretty sure it won’t be on the computer reading sentences. Pictures, yes. Commerce, sure. But the thoughts and news of others? I don’t think my fragile constitution can handle it right now.

Leave a Reply

